Welcome to My Garden!


Image

This photo is from June 2012 when the garden looks neat and tidy.
from front to back, left to right-each bed:
butternut squash, bush cukes, zucchini, garlic on the edges
green beans, yellow onion
early girl tomatoes, mixed lettuces
amish paste tomatoes, cukes, green beans, garlic on the edges
tomatoes: Cherokee purple, Black Krim, Santa Grape, Amish Paste and garlic on the edges
various peppers and eggplant
Amish Paste tomatoes

My husband and I grew up in South Jersey and have lived here most of our lives. I have been vegetable gardening for about 30 years. I don’t remember exactly when, but I do remember how I started. I made a batch of tomato sauce from some Jersey tomatoes a co-worker gave me.  It was so good, I decided to grow my own.

At the time, we were living in a Philly rowhouse and our small backyard doubled as a driveway. There were two strips on both sides for planting. I dug up the rosebushes that were there and planted my first tomato garden.

I’ll be sharing how I garden and what I do with the stuff I grow. I hope other gardeners join in and share their experiences as well. My garden is very tomato centric but I would like to explore more about succession planting and getting more out of my small space.  Since the season has already started, I’ll have a few posts to get caught up to date.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elaine on March 31, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    Yay! You grow, girl!
    Antigone

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lynne Booth on March 31, 2013 at 7:01 pm

    I’ve bookmarked this. I look forward to reading more and sharing!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Robyn on March 31, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    JrzyTmta!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Meowie on April 1, 2013 at 8:45 am

    we need more salsa.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Izzy on April 1, 2013 at 11:52 am

    Was hoping we’d get to see the Jrzy Garden!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Dana on April 1, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    I plan on following you as I can see you are doing already what I am planning on paper.

    Reply

  7. Good Job! Both on the blog and on the garden. I’ve got this bookmarked.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

South Jersey Trails

Hiking and Backpacking in South Jersey

kittenkamkattery

Tales inspired by the Kitten Cam community

sunshinefarmnj

A Project in Community Effort Gardening

naturesurrounds

Nature surrounds us all--live in harmony with nature

NZ Kitchen Garden

Home grown goodness for the kitchen and pantry

GROWtest.org

Don't protest, GROWtest!

Eat Close To Home

A blog of Michigan foods and gardening

The Ungardener

Plan, Create, and Enjoy your BEST garden ever!

Veggie Gardening Tips

An Organic Garden in South Jersey

Growing Ideas with Johnny's Selected Seeds

An Organic Garden in South Jersey

Your Small Kitchen Garden

An Organic Garden in South Jersey

South Jersey History & Adventures

Exploring South Jersey And Beyond.

